Bible Study: Pitfall of Distraction

Standard

In the age we are living in it seems there is nothing but distraction. Our focus changes from one thing to the next to the next, never fully resting for a period of time. This is a huge issue in the church today. Satan uses distraction to get our focus off of Jesus and on to anything else that comes along. When I think about what distraction really is, to me it is a spiritual malady, a demonic influence to cause separation from our walk with God.

Every night when I am saying my prayers, random thought after thought pops up and off my mind goes on bunny trails… I have to constantly repent, rebuke, and resume my praying. Truth be told, distraction comes easier than intent focus on God. It takes work to keep our eyes fixed on Jesus. It goes against our flesh to focus.

Definitions of distraction:

  1. a thing that prevents someone from giving full attention to something else
  2. extreme agitation of the mind or emotions

What does the bible say about distraction?

Proverbs 4:25-27 (NLT)

25 Look straight ahead,

and fix your eyes on what lies before you.

26 Mark out a straight path for your feet;

stay on the safe path.

27 Don’t get sidetracked;

keep your feet from following evil.

Luke 10:38-42 (NLT)

38 As Jesus and the disciples continued on their way to Jerusalem, they came to a certain village where a woman named Martha welcomed him into her home. 39 Her sister, Mary, sat at the Lord’s feet, listening to what he taught. 40 But Martha was distracted by the big dinner she was preparing. She came to Jesus and said, “Lord, doesn’t it seem unfair to you that my sister just sits here while I do all the work? Tell her to come and help me.”

1 Corinthians 7:35 (NLT)

35 I am saying this for your benefit, not to place restrictions on you. I want you to do whatever will help you serve the Lord best, with as few distractions as possible.

Each of these verses offers powerful insight into the pitfall of distraction. In Proverbs we are warned not to get sidetracked from walking with God which will lead to evil. In Luke we are shown that when we focus on the details of life too much we miss the focus of who is life, Jesus. In 1 Corinthians we are told that when we are given ample amount of instructions it is not to hurt us, but to help us fix our eyes on serving the Lord.

We are a society that is so consumed with what’s next that it is virtually impossible to stay in today. Our minds are trained to move so quickly, taking in only partial information, and focusing on an end rather than the means to the end. As Christians it is our duty to slow down and truly walk with Jesus. Our focus should be on serving Him and reaching the hurt and dying world. Our prayer life and bible studies shouldn’t be a hurried time where we block a few minutes to devote to God; we need to make our devotion to Him first and slot out time for everything else afterwards.

I have noticed this in my daily life just how easy it is to focus on the bills, the work, the TV shows; everything that could take me away from doing what it is I am called to do in the Lord. I am called to prayer, to reading and meditating on His word, to serving and loving others, to share the message of Jesus; if I am focusing on the distractions of life, how can I do these things? Another verse that I have to cling to when I find myself in the pitfall of distraction: Matthew 6:33 (NLT)- “33 Seek the Kingdom of God above all else, and live righteously, and he will give you everything you need.” Worry, stress, doubt, etc. etc….these are all signs not only of distraction, but of lacking trust in the Lord. We are called to trust Him, Proverbs 3:5 (NLT) clearly relays this message: “Trust in the Lord with all your heart; do not depend on your own understanding.” Trust is another principle we are called to do, when we do not trust in Him that is sin!

This is all well and fine, but how to we break the influence and trap of distraction so that we can put our focus and trust in God?

REPENT OF DISTRACTION, REBUKE THE DEVIL, READ THE WORD, PRAY INTENTIONALLY, GET OUT OF YOURSELF AND HELP SOMEONE, SACRIFICE YOUR SELFISHNESS!

  1. Romans 12:1 (NLT) “And so, dear brothers and sisters, I plead with you to give your bodies to God because of all he has done for you. Let them be a living and holy sacrifice—the kind he will find acceptable. This is truly the way to worship him.”
  1. Luke 9:23 (NLT) “Then he said to the crowd, “If any of you wants to be my follower, you must turn from your selfish ways, take up your cross daily, and follow me.”
  1. Luke 12:30 (NLT) “These things dominate the thoughts of unbelievers all over the world, but your Father already knows your needs.”
  1. Matthew 10:38-39 (MSG) “If you don’t go all the way with me, through thick and thin, you don’t deserve me. If your first concern is to look after yourself, you’ll never find yourself. But if you forget about yourself and look to me, you’ll find both yourself and me.”
  1. James 4:7 (NLT) “So humble yourselves before God. Resist the devil, and he will flee from you.”
  1. 2 Chronicles 7:14 (AMP) “14 If My people, who are called by My name, shall humble themselves, pray, seek, crave, and require of necessity My face and turn from their wicked ways, then will I hear from heaven, forgive their sin, and heal their land.”
  1. 2 Corinthians 4:5 (NLV) “5 We do not preach about ourselves. We preach Christ Jesus the Lord. We are your servants because of Jesus.”
  1. Joshua 1:8 (NLT) “8 Study this Book of Instruction continually. Meditate on it day and night so you will be sure to obey everything written in it. Only then will you prosper and succeed in all you do.”

All of the answers to this question, and any other question can be found in the word of God. It is our instruction manual, our tangible guide on earth to lead us in righteousness; it is a visible manifestation of our invisible God. I challenge you today to look at your life and take an honest self-appraisal. Where are the areas of distraction that need to be surrendered to God? What areas are hindering you from freedom in Jesus? Pray and ask God to reveal these shortcomings. Rebuke the devil and stand firm in the word of God. Ask the Holy Spirit to give you strength to overcome distraction. It will likely not be an instantaneous change, but when our fallacy is brought to light it begins the healing process and revelation to avoid falling in the trap again.

Miranda Embry

Leave a comment